---
title: "Collaboration Mode: Read only or Take control"
description: "Incident Insight allows multiple users to edit the same diagram. However, users **cannot **edit a diagram at the exact same time.  Users may enter into Read Only mode or Take Control. ##### Read Only If another user is editing a diagram…"
url: "https://incident-insight.com/docs/collaboration-mode-read-only-or-take-control/"
updated: "2025-07-10"
category: "How-to Guides"
---

# Collaboration Mode: Read only or Take control

Incident Insight allows multiple users to edit the same diagram. However, users **cannot **edit a diagram at the exact same time.  Users may enter into Read Only mode or Take Control.

##### Read Only

If another user is editing a diagram and you wish to open the same file for Read-Only (meaning you cannot make any changes), choose one of the following steps:

**Option 1: In your projects folder, click on the ellipse on a diagram and click View Read Only.![](https://incident-insight.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/10/Collaboration-Mode_-Read-Only.png)**

**Option 2: A warning pop-up will appear in the diagram if someone is currently editing it. Click Open in Read Only. ![](https://incident-insight.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/10/Collaboration-Mode_-Read-Only-2.png)**

**In the upper left corner of the Diagram Editor, you will see that you are in read-only mode.**![](https://incident-insight.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/10/Collaboration-Mode_-Read-Only-3.png)

##### **Taking Control**

If another user is editing a diagram that you have opened, a warning message will pop up that editing is in progress. If you wish to take control of editing, follow these steps:

**Step 1: If you were in read-only mode and wish to take control of the diagram, refresh your browser.**

**Step 2: A warning pop-up will appear. Click Take Control. Now you have full editing rights to the diagram.![](https://incident-insight.com/wp-content/uploads/2024/10/Collaboration-Mode_-Take-Control.png)**

**Note: If another user (User 1) has been editing a diagram within the past hour, and you take control of the diagram, User 1 will switch into read-only mode. User 1 will no longer be able to make any changes and may lose their latest change to the diagram. **
